10 Ways to Make Today Magical

Happy Someday!

Note:  I started this post on Monday, but thanks to an autumn cold, a doctor’s appointment, an irritable uterus, a washing machine with a temper tantrum and various other roadblocks it got more than a bit delayed!   I’m now working on it on Tuesday night and it may well be Wednesday before I finish up and hit publish.  Whatever day this reaches you, I hope it’s a happy one!  😉

We had a fabulous little mini-vacation last week.  It was great fun and absolutely beautiful, but I keep forgetting that I’m 8 months pregnant and overdoing things.  The baby let me know over the weekend that there are consequences to all that hiking, swimming and gallavanting!

I saw the doctor today and all is still going great.  We have three weeks until we meet our little one (it’s a scheduled C-section, which is my only option).

Enough about me though!

Here’s a few ways to make some magic with your kiddos this week…

1.  Print out this free disguise kit for the kids from Design House Digital.  Be sure to take lots of pictures!

2.  Sit down with your kids and make up lists of 10 or 20 things you each love about special people in your lives.  You can write the lists for kids who aren’t writing yet, but keep it in their words and have them add some decorations.  Then mail them out or take a picture and email them to brighten their day.

3.  Bake a cake, just because.  Add candles to each piece and let the kids make wishes and blow them out again and again!

4.  Get an old flour sifter from a thrift store, cut some templates and let the kids sift shapes onto the lawn or sidewalk with flour.  Pink and Green Mama has the simple instructions.

5.  Go apple picking (at an orchard or the back yard of a generous friend or family member!) and then make all sorts of goodies from your bounty.  Try bobbing for apples too.  It’s harder than you think!

6. Go on a puddle hunt.  Head outside together and go looking for puddles to throw things into, stomp in, investigate and otherwise explore.  On the right day, nothing is more magical to a small child than unlimited time spent with a good mud puddle!

7.  Make some glow in the dark playdough!  Sun Hats and Wellie Boots tells you how.

8.  Gather a box full of odds and ends from around the house for the kids to create robots, sculptures, inventions or other nifties with.  Possibilities include parts of broken toys, lids, hardware, chopsticks, items from the recycling bin, tin foil, googly eyes, pipe cleaners, sticks, bolts, washers, you name it.  Include wire, sturdy tape and a glue gun (with supervision) to help put everything together.

9. Have a Ten Good Deeds Day.  Each family member picks 10 things to do for others (strangers or loved ones) and writes them down.  When the last one is done, everybody celebrates with a little group reward.  Try to log the good deeds in a special place so you can look back on them later.

10.  Have a balloon day with crafts, activities and silliness.

And with that, my dears, I’d better hit publish quickly before it’s January and I haven’t gotten this out yet! 

Have a magical week!

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Ways to make today magical

4 responses to “10 Ways to Make Today Magical

  1. So glad all is well with baby. I’m sure you can hardly wait to meet the lil’ one! Continued blessings…

  2. Kristie

    Wishing you well for the next few weeks! How exciting to meet your new little bubba soon!

  3. Such wonderful ideas! I cannot wait to try them. I am going to share the link to your post with my readers. And best of luck with the last few weeks of your pregnancy. I too had Irritable uterus with my second child- hang in there.

  4. Thanks so much for sharing our glow in the dark playdough with all the other great ideas. I LOVE your blog!! 🙂

Leave a comment