Thanks John

This gem of a quote has been circulating friends’ Facebook statuses the past couple of days and it made me smile so much I had to pass it on…

“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life.  When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up.   I wrote down ‘happy.’  They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.” — John Lennon

I don’t know if John Lennon really said it at all, but that’s not really the point, is it? 🙂

Happy Friday!

PS  I loved the answers some of you posted for ways you were silly with your kids!  If you haven’t read the comments from the assignment I posted the other day, I highly recommend them.  And please add more!

2 Comments

Filed under quotes

2 responses to “Thanks John

  1. Tam

    Just found your website and I love it!
    This quote reminded me of when I made the choice to leave university midway through my degree when I realised that I was stuck on a path that was making me really unhappy. My dad said to me on the drive home, “What on earth do you think the point of life is?”
    “Being happy,” I replied.
    “Well then you need to grow up,” was his response. I promised myself I would never be *that* parent, and I make the effort every day not to be.

Leave a Reply

