Seed Bombs!

Magical Mama Kit shared this fun idea.  She writes…

Another blog I read had a great post today about seed bombs. . . and I immediately thought it would be a great way to make today magical!   I’ve never heard of them before today- I love the idea!


 
The idea is new to me, too, but it really sounds like a delightful way to spread some beauty in unloved places.   You basically make little clay balls filled with a bit of soil and some flower seeds, and throw them hard enough to crack them into deserted lots, ditches and other neglected spaces that could use some flowers.

The web site has all the directions, plus information on sites that are good candidates and sites NOT to use seed bombs, along with information about recommended seeds.  They recommend native wildflowers and particularly poppies.

The whole thing reminds me of a sort of ramped up take on Miss Rumphius, one of my favorite children’s books in the world.  Miss Rumphius tells us how her grandfather taught her that we each must make the world more beautiful in our own way.  Miss Rumphius ultimately does that by scattering lupine seeds all over the countryside near her home. 

I have a feeling that getting to hurl things in order to spread beauty will appeal even more to some kiddos.  :)

Thanks so much, Kit! 
 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Seed Bombs!

  1. Anonymous

    No problem! I’m looking forward to giving my kids little beauty grenades to pitch. ;)
    Kit

    http://kitmama.blogspot.com

  2. Anonymous

    Bird says thanks…
    …for writing about seed bombs! I hope you’ll have a lot of fun making them and exploring your neighbourhood for places to throw and sow. Lovely too, to visit your blog. What a great resource :)

Leave a Reply

